Feeling new

Seredipitously, I was offered a job within three weeks of moving to New York! I’m working at a landscape design-build company, which specializes in rooftop gardens and is expanding its green roof projects. The photo here is an example of a garden we designed and installed.

In many ways I am feeling very “new”. I’m (re)learning a lot and remembering that there are people who are not community organizers and don’t necessarily think like community organizers. The days pass by very quickly, and there is barely time to even think about blogging.

I’m (re)learning how to travel all over again. Walking is wonderful, though I need better shoes. Most notably, I’m enjoying every moment of public transportation, which is so very much needed in Detroit, even when my train breaks down and I have take three extra trains to get to work.

  1. Congratulations, I am very happy for you.

  2. Lizzy

    I so feel you, its so easy to get consumed by the day to day without stopping to think of why you’re doing what you’re doing and why you are there.

    I’m soo happy that you’re ‘feeling new,’ and congrats on the new job!!!
    I’ve been meaning to go to NYC to get to know the city (I’ve never been), so I have no excuse now that you’re there!!!

    Much much love and positive energies in your job! Miss ya!

  3. you moved?? let me know if you want to hang! btw, i was inspired by your blog layout and jacked it for my own… hope you don’t mind (too much). let me know if you ever want to chill!




Leave a Reply

